Temples of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

Edinburgh Scotland Temple

Victoria British Columbia Temple

Brisbane Australia South Temple

Planning and approval phase; site location unknown; groundbreaking not announced




7 April 2024

Construction Status

The Brisbane Australia South Temple is currently in the planning stages. No groundbreaking date has been announced.

Temple Rendering

An official rendering of the Brisbane Australia South Temple has not yet been released to the public.

Temple Site

No site location has been officially announced for the Brisbane Australia South Temple.

Temple Announcement

On April 7, 2024, President Russell M. Nelson announced plans to construct the Brisbane Australia South Temple at the 194th Annual General Conference. Brisbane is the capital of the state of Queensland. It is located in the northeastern part of Australia and has a population of roughly 2.2 million. The temple will be the second in the Brisbane area and the sixth in Australia. The city's first temple, the Brisbane Australia Temple, was dedicated in June 2003. The country's other temples are the Adelaide Australia Temple, Melbourne Australia Temple, Perth Australia Temple, and Sydney Australia Temple. The first congregation was organized in Australia in 1844, followed by the creation of a mission in 1851. In the 1960s, stakes were organized in Sydney, Brisbane, and Melbourne. They were among the first organized outside of North America. At the time of the temple announcement, there were more than 155,000 Church members in more than 300 congregations in the country.1

Temple Facts

The Brisbane Australia South Temple will be the eleventh temple built in the same city as another operating temple, the Brisbane Australia Temple (2003), making Brisbane, Australia, the eleventh city in the world to have more than one temple, following South Jordan, Utah; Provo, Utah; Lima, Peru; St. George, Utah; Guatemala City, Guatemala; Rexburg, Idaho; Santiago, Chile; Mexico City, Mexico; Las Vegas, Nevada; and Buenos Aires, Argentina.

The Brisbane Australia South Temple will be the eighth temple built outside of the United States in the same metropolitan area as another operating temple, making the Brisbane metropolitan area the eighth metropolitan area outside of the United States with more than one temple, following the Lima metropolitan area in Peru, the Greater Manila Area in the Philippines, the Guatemala City metropolitan area in Guatemala, Greater São Paulo in Brazil, the Santiago Metropolitan Region in Chile, Greater Mexico City in Mexico, and Greater Buenos Aires in Argentina.

  1. "President Russell M. Nelson Announces 15 Temples," The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints News Release, 7 Apr. 2024.

Adelaide Australia Temple
89th dedicated temple in operation
Brisbane Australia Temple
115th dedicated temple in operation
Melbourne Australia Temple
90th dedicated temple in operation; temporarily closed
Perth Australia Temple
106th dedicated temple in operation
Sydney Australia Temple
28th dedicated temple in operation