Temples of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

Church Presidents

Since the organization of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in 1830, there have been 17 men who have served as president. During their tenure, they may announce the construction of new temples or preside at temple groundbreakings or dedications.

Tenure Statistics

Following are the number of temples announced, commenced, or dedicated during the tenure of each Church president.

President Tenure Announcements Groundbreakings Dedications
Joseph Smith14 years 2 months 21 days5 temples3 temples1 temple
Brigham Young29 years 8 months 2 days4 temples4 temples2 temples
John Taylor6 years 9 months 15 days1 temple
Wilford Woodruff9 years 4 months 25 days2 temples
Lorenzo Snow3 years 0 months 27 days
Joseph F. Smith17 years 1 months 2 days2 temples2 temples
Heber J. Grant26 years 5 months 21 days3 temples2 temples3 temples
George Albert Smith5 years 10 months 14 days1 temple
David O. McKay18 years 9 months 9 days7 temples8 temples5 temples
Joseph Fielding Smith2 years 5 months 10 days2 temples
Harold B. Lee1 years 5 months 19 days
Spencer W. Kimball11 years 10 months 6 days31 temples25 temples21 temples
Ezra Taft Benson8 years 6 months 20 days9 temples10 temples9 temples
Howard W. Hunter0 years 8 months 28 days3 temples1 temple2 temples
Gordon B. Hinckley12 years 10 months 15 days79 temples*81 temples77 temples
Thomas S. Monson9 years 10 months 28 days45 temples37 temples35 temples
Russell M. Nelson6 years 5 months 8 days168 temples75 temples36 temples
*Includes the announcement of the Harrison New York Temple, which was suspended shortly after the dedication of the Manhattan New York Temple.

Presiding Statistics

Following are the number of temples commenced, dedicated, or rededicated with a Church president as the presiding authority, either during his time as president or as an apostle.

President Groundbreakings Dedications Rededications
Joseph Smith1 temple
Brigham Young3 temples
John Taylor1 temple
Wilford Woodruff2 temples
(1 as an apostle)
Lorenzo Snow
Joseph F. Smith
Heber J. Grant1 temple3 temples
George Albert Smith1 temple
David O. McKay4 temples5 temples
Joseph Fielding Smith2 temples
Harold B. Lee
Spencer W. Kimball6 temples4 temples4 temples
Ezra Taft Benson2 temples2 temples
Howard W. Hunter2 temples
Gordon B. Hinckley20 temples
(11 as an apostle)
85 temples
(22 as an apostle)
13 temples
(6 as an apostle)
Thomas S. Monson5 temples
(3 as an apostle)
21 temples
(7 as an apostle)
5 temples
Russell M. Nelson4 temples
(2 as an apostle)
3 temples
(1 as an apostle)
4 temples
(2 as an apostle)