Temples of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

Salt Lake Temple


Temple presidents are called to oversee all activities performed at the temple. They serve voluntarily, usually for a period of several years. Following is a list of the current and former presidents of the Salt Lake Temple.

Temple President Years Served
Blaine J. Wixom Jr. 2017–2017
Cecil O. Samuelson 2014–2017
O. Claron Alldredge Jr. 2011–2014
Sheldon F. Child 2008–2011
M. Richard Walker 2005–2008
L. Aldin Porter 2002–2005
W. Eugene Hansen 1999–2002
Derrill H. Richards 1999–1999
Carlos E. Asay 1996–1999
George I. Cannon 1993–1996
Spencer H. Osborn 1990–1993
Edgar M. Denny 1987–1990
Victor L. Brown 1985–1987
Marion D. Hanks 1982–1985
A. Ray Curtis 1977–1982
John K. Edmunds 1972–1977
O. Leslie Stone 1968–1972
Howard S. McDonald 1964–1968
Willard E. Smith 1961–1964
ElRay L. Christiansen 1953–1961
Robert D. Young 1949–1953
Joseph Fielding Smith 1945–1949
Stephen L. Chipman 1938–1945
George F. Richards 1921–1938
Anthon H. Lund 1911–1921
Joseph F. Smith 1898–1911
Lorenzo Snow 1893–1898