Temples of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

Washington County Utah Temple

Planning and approval phase; awaiting official city (and site) announcement


United States


7 October 2018

Construction Status

The Washington County Utah Temple is currently in the planning stages. No groundbreaking date has been announced.

Temple Rendering

Renderings of the Washington County Utah Temple and site plan have not yet been publicly released.

Temple Site

No city (or site location) has been officially announced for the Washington County Utah Temple.

Temple Announcement

The announcement of Utah's twentieth temple came on October 7, 2018, when President Russell M. Nelson announced that a second temple would be constructed in Washington County, Utah. The other temple in Washington County, dedicated in 1877, is the St. George Utah Temple—the oldest operating temple of the restored Church of Jesus Christ. In his announcement remarks, President Nelson also noted that the Pioneer-era temples of the Church would begin to be renovated in the near future. He specifically named the Salt Lake Temple as an upcoming renovation, and a renovation announcement was made for the St. George Utah Temple on May 22, 2019. One other temple operates in Southwestern Utah. The Cedar City Utah Temple was dedicated at the end of 2017.

The seventeen dedicated temples in Utah include the St. George Utah Temple (1877), Logan Utah Temple (1884), Manti Utah Temple (1888), Salt Lake Temple (1893), Ogden Utah Temple (1972), Provo Utah Temple (1972), Jordan River Utah Temple (1981), Bountiful Utah Temple (1995), Mount Timpanogos Utah Temple (1996), Vernal Utah Temple (1997), Monticello Utah Temple (1998), Draper Utah Temple (2009), Oquirrh Mountain Utah Temple (2009), Brigham City Utah Temple (2012), Payson Utah Temple (2015), Provo City Center Temple (2016), and Cedar City Utah Temple (2017). Plans have been announced for the Saratoga Springs Utah Temple and Layton Utah Temple. There are 2.1 million Latter-day Saints who live in the state of Utah.1

Temple Facts

The Washington County Utah Temple will be the twentieth temple built in Utah and the second built in Washington County, following the St. George Utah Temple (1877).

  1. "Twelve Temples Announced as October 2018 General Conference Closes," The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints News Release, 7 Oct. 2018.

Bountiful Utah Temple
47th dedicated temple in operation
Brigham City Utah Temple
139th dedicated temple in operation
Cedar City Utah Temple
159th dedicated temple in operation
Draper Utah Temple
129th dedicated temple in operation
Jordan River Utah Temple
20th dedicated temple in operation
Layton Utah Temple
Planning and approval phase; site location officially announced on July 15, 2019
Logan Utah Temple
2nd dedicated temple in operation; renovation plans underway
Manti Utah Temple
3rd dedicated temple in operation; renovation plans underway
Monticello Utah Temple
53rd dedicated temple in operation
Mount Timpanogos Utah Temple
49th dedicated temple in operation
Ogden Utah Temple
14th dedicated temple in operation
Oquirrh Mountain Utah Temple
130th dedicated temple in operation
Payson Utah Temple
146th dedicated temple in operation
Provo Utah Temple
15th dedicated temple in operation
Provo City Center Temple
150th dedicated temple in operation
Salt Lake Temple
4th dedicated temple in operation
Saratoga Springs Utah Temple
Preliminary plans submitted to City government
St. George Utah Temple
1st dedicated temple in operation
Vernal Utah Temple
51st dedicated temple in operation