Temples of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

Mesa Arizona Temple


Temple presidents are called to oversee all activities performed at the temple. They serve voluntarily, usually for a period of several years. Following is a list of the current and former presidents of the Mesa Arizona Temple.

Temple President Years Served
Kenneth M. Smith 2017–2017
J Brent Hatch 2014–2017
R. Gordon Porter 2011–2014
Daryl H. Garn 2009–2011
Ezra T. Clark Jr. 2006–2009
Albert Choules Jr. 2003–2006
John R. Peterson 2000–2003
L. Kenyon Udall 1997–2000
E. Widtsoe Shumway 1994–1997
John H. Tanner 1991–1994
Nephi S. Allen 1988–1991
LeRoy Layton 1985–1988
L. Harold Wright 1980–1985
Junius E. Driggs 1975–1980
C. Bryant Whiting 1970–1975
Jesse M. Smith 1963–1970
J. Robert Price 1960–1963
Arwell L. Pierce 1953–1960
Harry L. Payne 1944–1953
Charles Pugh 1940–1944
Charles R. Jones 1934–1940
David K. Udall 1927–1934